Friday Link Frenzy

I’m all over the place today. Don’t say I didn’t warn you!

  • Do you Tumble? I opened it a long time ago, abandoned it, and have resurrected it because I kept finding cool stuff online and felt bad swamping my Facebook peeps with links galore. It seems I’ve gotten the hang of it this time and am having much fun playing around with it so please do kill some valuable time and join me!
  • You know how things just stick in your head? This piece called “How to steal like an artist (and 9 other things nobody told me)” is way stuck. I even printed it.
  • Thanks to NicoleandMaggie this version of “Friday” is also stuck in my head in a stubborn way but hey at least today it’s appropriate. I actually have watched it every day since they posted it.
  • I wish I had found this article when I’d first separated. “Help friends help you through divorce” is actually chock full of advice I wish I could’ve passed along so if you’re going through a separation or divorce, I strongly suggest you take a look and email it to your friends and family. You won’t have to say a word, trust me.
  • I loved this op-ed on the potential government shut down. The last sentence nailed it on the head, “Here’s the real reason that professional politicians should do whatever they can to avoid a shutdown: After a few days of living without government, many Americans might just decide they don’t really miss it and could live with a lot less of it.”
  • I absolutely loved this collection of Springtime music for book nerds.
  • Speaking of book nerds, talk about books as art!
  • My favorite post of the week at Get Rich Slowly was April’s post on the research done on Buying Happiness. I also loved the comments. People are just plain adamant about the preciousness of Stuff. I’m just not buying it. I’m not saying Experiences are the end all be all but they seem to be the things that stick most stubbornly to my heart and mind no matter what people say.
  • Speaking of buying happiness: Sharon’s a bit bummed about where all of her money’s gone lately. I’d actually written a HUGE response to her outlining all kinds of ideas and suggestions and positive encouragement but Blogger ate it (cuss you Blogger). So instead, I ask all of you visit her and make up for my loss at Blogger’s hands. Basically: I think she should focus on the positive and the things she can do more often and more cheaply as ways to “live more” and she should feel just fine going ahead and taking a percentage of income for living more. But I’m sure you all have better things to say.
  • Did you see? Single Mom, Rich Mom wrote a post all for ME! It turns out though, it is probably one of the best most inspiring posts I’ve read in the PF world. After reading her story, I feel very inspired, very blessed, and very satisfied with life where it is right now. I think her story is super important because these successful PF stories are way too often heavy on the DINK (Dual Income No Kids) side and short on everything else.
  • Thanks to Twinkie-Chan, I want a Candy Coated Knuckle Duster.
  • I finished reading Your Money: The Missing Manual. I have to say, I really thought this was going to be a yawner for me full of stuff I didn’t need to read because I’ve heard it all before. I was wrong. I actually want to own it. If you have tried searching GRS before, and get all mad because it’s just WAY too much stuff to go through, get this book. It’s incredibly handy. You can read my full review on Goodreads. Oh and yeah that means I’ve read 24 books or 40% of my challenge to read 60 this year. And I’m almost done with PostSecret: Confessions on Life, Death, and God.

So, I didn’t think this would be a link love fest but it looks like that’s what my blog wanted so there you have it! I’ll be helping my friend do last-minute taxes tonight, doing some mystery shops and store audits (rockin’ that extra income baby) tomorrow, and cooking bacon pancakes for some friends on Sunday. What are you doing?

P.S. I’d like to put together a collection of links of side jobs for moms– single or otherwise. I actually have a few I want to put up for sure and they all happen to be fantastic artists. So, if you’ve got a side job, or your job is your sole income, either blog about your business and its story and email me the link to your post or email me the story and a link to your site. Even if your products or services aren’t something that can be purchased on the web, I’d still like to feature it. It doesn’t matter how big or small it is or what it is (even another blog!). I’m just curious about what everyone else out there does to pull in some money and I want to support other females because we rock.

5 thoughts on “Friday Link Frenzy

  1. I am glad you liked it. It was kind of easy (yet hard) to write. One of those that you close your eyes and hit “Publish”. But I thought it was somehow important to say I guess. To give hope. There’s always hope.

    Reply

Leave a comment