It’s Friday, Friday…

There is no worse war than the one you wage with yourself. If no one famous has ever said that before, they should have because it’s true. And if they did, then I’m not surprised at all and would love to attribute it properly but don’t feel like Googling it. Thank you for so many amazing suggestions.

I need to figure things out. I’m all for the kids helping me and try and bring them in when I’m working on things but because I tend to put things off so much, I usually end up doing things when they are asleep or at their father’s house and that eliminates the opportunities many of you suggested. The way I see things, and maybe it’s the wrong way but I don’t think so, is that I’m just not very organized or reliable when it comes to my home. And that not only makes it hard to enjoy my life but it makes it hard for anyone to help me enough to reduce my workload.  So I really need to focus on making some changes in my habits and as I do so, also remember to bring in the team.

On a much lighter note:

I saw the headband on the left online at Anthropologie and liked it so much, I made my own

I saw the headband on the left online at Anthropologie and liked it so much, I made my own

My job had a raffle for a Movie Night for Two and I WON! The last time I went to the movies was to watch The Avengers. Any suggestions?

My job had a raffle for a Movie Night for Two and I WON! The last time I went to the movies was to watch The Avengers. Any suggestions?

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend and for those of us fortunate enough, a blissful LONG one at that! Any special plans?

 

15 thoughts on “It’s Friday, Friday…

  1. ” I usually end up doing things when they are asleep or at their father’s house and that eliminates the opportunities many of you suggested. The way I see things, and maybe it’s the wrong way but I don’t think so,”

    The problem with that is that it becomes a permanent state. “It’s too hard to plan to teach them, schedule them, let them do it, fix it when they screw up, teach them to do it better [enter excuse here], so I’ll just do it when they’re not here to get in the way and then it’s done.” So 5 years from now when you have a 14 yr old, an 11 yr old, and a 9 yr old – you’ll still be doing everything yourself. That’s how I wound up married to a 30 year old who didn’t know how to unload the dishwasher or do a load of laundry or realize that yes the trash does have to be taken out at night. Things magically got done when he and his brothers were out of the house … because it was easier for their mom to accomplish when they weren’t “in the way”.

    If for no other reason than you don’t want to saddle some future partner/spouse with an adult who has no idea how to handle the most basic of household chores … I beg of you to rethink this attitude. 🙂

    Reply
  2. In-theater movie suggestions: “Django Unchained,” “Argo,” “This is 40,” “Zero Dark Thirty,” or “Lincoln.” I loved all of them.

    Reply
  3. I am totally guilty of the “it is easier to just do it myself” mentality. But I learned I have to let the kids LEARN. Start with one thing….don’t try and conquer the world all at once (do as I say, not as I do!)

    No movie suggestions….last movie I saw was Breaking Dawn part 2, and I can’t even remember the one before that. Enjoy your prize!

    Reply
    • I started doing some of it this weekend. I’d go do something myself, stop, and ask one of the kids to either help or in the case of the eldest, do it himself. Little by little. I just have to keep doing it

      Reply
  4. I am going to see django unchained tomorrow night, looks fantastic! ON a lighter note, I also saw this is 40 a few weeks ago…hilarious!

    Reply
  5. My son now cleans his own bathroom. What happened was it got into a state of utter and complete awful (because it was not a priority for me or DH, and new baby = busy). And then we had company coming, so it had to be cleaned. So we showed him how to do it. Since then he’s been doing it on his own before it gets to utter and complete awful (so about once every 3 weeks). He’s pretty proud of himself.

    I don’t think it takes that much repetition to learn how to do most household tasks. You may be surprised at how quickly they pick up on stuff.

    Reply
  6. Love the headband. Great job replicating it! Isn’t it so nice to have a skill that saves you money on stuff? Congrats on the movie basket! I’ve heard amazing things on The Silver Linings Playbook. Lots of award nominations too. I’m going to attempt to see it with the hubs when he gets home!

    Reply
  7. Fabulous headband!

    As it’s now Sunday, Sunday… hope what remains of your weekend is blissful… or at least, manageable.

    As for movies? No suggestions. (Last movie I went out to see was probably on a date about 4 years ago…)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

