The End

Yesterday was the last day of the Mutant Poopymodel.

The fact is, as is too often the case in our blessed lives, there are far too many good things in my life than bad things. Yes, yes, yes a lack of money is stressful. Yes, yes, yes it is frustrating. But it’s not a deal-breaker. It’s not even a deal-cracker really and it’s my job to keep things in their place.

The gloom started to lift last week. I showed my co-worker my kids’ Santa lists and we were laughing at how cute they were and she was reminiscing about her daughters being that age. I had to leave to make a delivery to another office and she told me she’d put the lists in my office for me so I wouldn’t have to walk back that way with my arms full. When I came back, the letters were on my chair– each one with a $10 clipped to it and a note from her that made me cry like a silly big baby.

After that, I was able to fill some very small wishes at the Google+ Secret Santa project using some gift cards (Swagbucks, thank you). It was a much-needed reminder that no matter how hard you have it, someone always has it way harder. And I was happy to know that at least I was able to get something teeny tiny for someone else and make them smile and pay forward my co-worker’s kindness that way. It made me smile too. That’s when things started to really brighten up.

And then, over the weekend two things on our family’s Wish List were filled by my very own Secret Santas. I was so surprised! There are so many lists on the website and I really didn’t expect anyone to catch mine especially since I didn’t really write much in the section provided on why I was signing up. And I had seen some of the stories on there. Cue warm, fuzzy feelings that two someones somewhere blessed me that way.

The city I live in is a suburb of Miami. The City Hall puts up a small Christmas park every year and has done so for as long as I can remember. It is free to go and Monday was the first time I took my kids. It was an awesome way to end a nice evening that had started with me bringing out their boxes of ornaments and letting them start decorating the tree while I made dinner. Then it was dinner time, bath time, and into the car we went. They loved the park. The ran around and jumped around and on and off of everything.

Christmas Kids

When we got home, my middle brother called me and let me know he was taking care of the big ticket item on my kids’ list. And my mom called after that and told me she would take care of the next biggest ticket item on their lists. And then my baby brother called and told me he would take care of the two next biggest ticket items on the list.

Since then, it’s just been one Christmas miracle after another and they have come in all shapes and sizes from all kinds of people. And I am happy that I am blessed and fortunate and loved and that my children are too. And we will have a nice Christmas together because we will be together and there is a Christmas tree with lights and ornaments, and there will be music, and there will be cookies, and there will be some brightly wrapped gifts, and there will be laughs and kisses and hugs and stories.

The day after, we are leaving to Virginia again. My aunt and uncle have once again rented a log cabin in Virginia and invited us up. My parents are once again going and covering the cost of gas and any overnight hotel stay we may have. Dad and I will share the driving. And when we come back on New Year’s Eve I will be oh so ready for 2013 and whatever it may bring our way.

This is my family, aka the wonderful people who get me through time and time again. The only one missing is Stallion who was working that day the way he works every day. I love the people in this photo, and him, so very, very, very much.

This is my family, aka the wonderful people who get me through time and time again. The only one missing is Stallion who was working that day the way he works every day. I love the people in this photo, and him, so very, very, very much.

22 thoughts on “The End

  1. Misty eyes over here! I’m so glad to hear that you’ve been blessed so many times over this season. The fact that you paid it forward says so much about you. Have a wonderful holiday!

    Reply
  2. I am so glad that you have a loving and supportive family. You really have no idea how blessed you are. You think you know….but trust me….you really have NO IDEA how fortunate you are to have been born into a family that loves you.

    Reply
  3. Thank you for such a wonderful reminder of what really matters for the holiday – friends and family:) Hope you have a wonderful trip and that mutant poopypants refrains from making an appearance!

    Reply
  4. Thanks for making me cry while at work 😉 I have a family that’s super supportive like yours, and I know I wouldn’t be able to have half as much without them helping me and supporting me every step of the way. Christmas can sometimes be overwhelming when you can barely make ends meet and you want nothing more than to make it special for your children- Secret Santa’s and loving family is what the season is all about. I’m glad the gloom is lifting for you 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

