A Moment Over Coffee

I was in the kitchen rounding up the breakfast supplies. Eldest walked in, opened the dishwasher and grabbed a cup.

“I wouldn’t do that if I were you.”

“Why?”

“Because they’re dirty.”

“No, the sign said ‘Clean’.”

“You sure about that?”

“Yes”

“OK then.”

He pulled out the cup, closed the door, and glanced at the sign. He pulled the door open again. I smiled as he put the cup back.

“Never doubt your mother in the morning when she’s drinking a giant cup of coffee,” I teased him.

“Coffee is so yummy.”

“Yes it is. Do you want a sip?”

“Yes please.”

He came to my side and carefully took the giant mug in his hands. He was so big, easily standing over the stove. I wondered if he was pretending to ignore how hot it was against his hands or if he found the warmth comforting. He would die if his friends saw him drinking out of a giant pink mug with Sleeping Beauty on it.

“I know why Daddy wants you to pack a pair of jeans for me.”

“Oh yeah? Why?” I thought maybe his dad had planned something special for them and had told them.

“Because he doesn’t have any.”

“Oh. He could buy you a pair.”

“I know.”

I smiled at him. He smiled back.

“Did you pack them?”

“Yes.”

“And Baby’s sandals?”

“Yes.”

“Thank you. Go brush your teeth.”

He walked away sipping his cup of water and I spent the rest of the day wondering if I had slipped and said something I shouldn’t have.

2 thoughts on “A Moment Over Coffee

  1. SJ is divorced (years ago!) and still dealing with fallout from her ex, with whom she had a child. She writes about it and other stuff here http://iasshole.org/ and you might like it (if you haven’t found her on your own). She deals with the same “dad doesn’t buy the kid clothing” issues.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

