Red Tape

The counter on my phone showed it was 47 minutes and 5 seconds when a live voice came on the phone. I’d almost forgotten I was on hold and it took me a second to gather myself. It was my monthly call to the State Attorney’s Child Support Enforcement office.

The latest call revealed the following:

The case is no longer in the matching stage, it is now in the updating stage. They had heard back from the court and verified the court order. Now they were updating the computer with all of the court order and case information. As a matter of fact, there was an update made September 24th.

What’s next?

Well the computer has to be full updated with all of the information. When that happens, it waits for the next payment as dictated by the court order. In this case, it’s a bi-weekly court order. Once it sees payments are being missed it starts sending out enforcement letters.

How many payments does it need to see missed?

I don’t know.

Doesn’t it show payments have been missed since June?

Well yes but the computer doesn’t count those. It starts counting from when it’s fully updated.

And when will it be fully updated?

Oh I can’t really tell you. But I’d call back every three weeks and see if any correspondence has gone out.

 

6 thoughts on “Red Tape

  1. Glad to learn I am not the only one who makes monthly calls! I kept pushing them to levy accounts…and after 1 year it ifnally worked, they pulled 50% of what was in his checking account. I am guessing he will no longer keep much money in that account. I also insist they explain everything they are doing and the next steps. I feel like I annoy the hell out of them.

    Reply
  2. It’s been 4.5 years and I still haven’t received a single payment. I keep getting told, “We have 90 days to review the case, call back then.” I call back in 90 days. They give me the same line. I tell them, that’s what you told me LAST time. “Well, we still have 90 days.”

    Finally I went down there and waited to speak to someone in person. She said she had a stack to review and she’d get to it when she got to it. I looked her straight in the eye and said, “He owes me more than $20,000 in back child support – can you imagine how much more you could give your own child with that much money?” Then I started crying.

    Miraculously my file was reviewed that week and a court date was set. Then he was arrested for something separate, and as he was going to spend the next year and a half in prison, they tabled my case. Again.

    Honestly, I’ve given up.

    I hope that it turns out better for you. Go down in person and wreck havoc, show them you’re a human being with real needs. Let them see your personal struggle and you’ll move to the top of the pile.

    Reply
    • Don’t give up. I think that’s the problem. So many give up instead of doubling down our efforts. Squeaky wheel gets the grease right? So what if it’s a raging roaring wheel? The system is a mess and it needs work. It’s insane that my coworker has a daughter in college and another who is 15 and had the exact same experience 13 years ago that I’m having now. It’s not right!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

