We’re Back

We’re back! We actually got back on Monday, but I was wiped out. And then yesterday I went to the dentist and that ruined my day. So, today is the day I get to jump on here and tell you all the trip was a huge success. I stayed on budget and we had an amazing time. I wish I could share pictures but apparently the battery fell out of the charger in my old purse when I moved everything over and I didn’t notice. So I had to buy disposable cameras and we haven’t used them up yet to develop them. So weird having to wait to show you photos.

Yesterday was dentist day for me. You guys, I’m not scared of the dentist anymore, but I seriously dislike going. I mean seriously.

So here’s the verdict. My teeth are mostly in good condition. I have no cavities but my two upper wisdom teeth are going to have to come out. They are in awful condition and one is already protruding and it’s coming in backwards.

The real problem is my gums. My gums are a mess. When I was younger, a part of my lower gums got sliced by a hygienist by accident. And when I got braces, the lower gums got really irritated. And of course, neglect has led to major problems.

So we are doing a deep cleaning in four parts. Part one was yesterday. Part Two next Thursday and so on and so forth. After that, they’re doing another x-ray to make sure they’ve cleaned everything thoroughly.

After that, I’m being referred to a periodontist to do a skin graft from the roof of my mouth to my front gumline to save my teeth.

The deep cleanings suck. I’m still bleeding from yesterday’s cleaning. Apparently, that’s what they want though– to drain out the gums of all the CRAP. It’s so gross. Seriously. Gross. And then people wonder why I don’t like the dentist.

But, I did it and I’m going to go with it and do the rest of it. Maybe once I clean all this crap out of me I won’t get sick as often. And then going to the dentist won’t suck as bad.

So there you go. I went on a trip, stayed on budget, and went to the dentist. It’s like I don’t even know myself anymore!

18 thoughts on “We’re Back

  1. I knew you could do it! It does sound pretty awful though. But like you said it may keep you from getting as sick. So strange how much oral health effects our overall health.

    Glad you had a great time and stayed under budget. Yay

    Reply
  2. Wow, no wonder you don’t like the dentist if you had someone rip your gums up before! I grew up with a really good dentist and could never understand why people wouldn’t like to go… it was almost like going to the spa… then I had a bad hygienist scrape my teeth till they hurt for a week after I was grown. Still makes me shudder. Welcome back!

    Reply
  3. Yay, on all counts except the unpleasantness (understatement) of the dentist. But good on you for going. I delayed/underused dental care for years because I was overwhelmed paying for infertility treatments (or just really dislike going to the dentist) and when I went back, had to go through one of those cleanings you describe. Good luck getting it all sorted out and I hope and trust it will pay off.

    Reply
  4. Congrats on staying on budget! Sounds like everyone had a great time, too.

    One of my friends delayed going to the dentist for years due to her dislike/fear and lack of insurance. Once she got a good job with dental insurance she confronted her fears like you. Also like you she had to go through several “deep cleanings.” They sound…unpleasant…but you will be grateful when you’re done.

    My wisdom teeth had to be extracted when I was 19. I fasted so they could put me under general anesthesia and I think that worked out really well since I have no memories of the procedure at all other than falling asleep and then waking up. If your insurance will cover general anesthesia and you can someone to give you a ride to and from the office, I highly recommend that.

    As for the periodontal work, I had two gum grafts last year and one procedure where she “stretched” my gum tissue. I have nothing to compare it to since I’ve had so few dental procedures done in my lifetime, but the surgery itself was not something I want to go through again. I’m not used to getting novocaine shots. I think that was actually the worst part, so if you do OK with the shots you should be OK. My periodontist was awesome and the folks at the orthodontist office say her work is flawless; you can’t even tell where the gum grafts were done. I hope you have a good outcome, too!

    Reply
    • The last time I went to the dentist they gave me shots and I hated them but whatever. I doubt my insurance would cover anesthesia but I’ll ask her about my options, thanks for the heads up!

      Reply
      • Not to be Debbie Downer here, but the general anesthesia from getting my wisdom teeth out is why I had two natural childbirths. I had a *bad* anesthesiology experience (took 6 tries and two anesthesiologists to put me under, woke up choking etc.). From what I understand, laughing gas is a good time (but sadly illegal in the state where I got my wisdom teeth out… something about a chance of instant death and they can’t revive you like they can with the IV).

  5. Whoa, that is one wicked experience with anesthesia, nicoleandmaggie! I’ve only had it twice in my life: once for the wisdom teeth removal, and a second time for my tubal ligation. I guess I’m lucky that I had no problems with it.

    Reply
  6. It’s not me going to the dentist, but seriously, reading your post reinforces my resistance to visiting our dentist! LOL! Looks like you’re in good spirit. Glad for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

