Happy Friday, indeed!

I’ve mentioned before how there are moments in your life where you just really plow ahead. Every step feels right and it’s like the path is trying to unfold before you as quickly and beautifully as you’re walking it.

This week has turned into one of those kinds of weeks. Everything just feels so right.

Yesterday was my 31st birthday. I had a very lovely and low-key dinner with my family and friends at my favorite Mexican restaurant in Miami– Mi Rinconcito Mexicano. You may remember it from my Forbidden Wedding post as my ideal place to host my post-wedding-that-will-never-happen-dinner. I got showered with lovely presents including some clothes and purses and roses and a gift card and tickets to Cirque Eloize’s iD show this Sunday night. I was very overwhelmed with love and happiness and everything wonderful.

And today, I’ve been finding out good news, on top of good news, on top of more good news.

It started this morning when someone congratulated me on Google + for winning a Donna Freedman giveaway. Moi? No way! But, I looked and sure enough– I was a winner of a $20 Amazon gift card in her most recent Swag Bucks Sign-Up giveaway! Yay!

And then, I logged into my Swag Bucks account and wouldn’t you know it? I earned my 450 SB. For those of you who don’t know, that meant I was eligible to redeem enough Swag Bucks for a $5 Amazon gift card.

That sound you hear is my happy dance of awesome.

But wait, there’s more.

I actually got through to someone at the Miami-Dade County’s clerk of the courts’ Child Support Division (holy mouthful). Getting through to them is sort of like those little wooden triangle games at Cracker Barrel with the pegs– you get close, but never actually win. They’re only available from 9 AM to 12 PM and the automated system doesn’t really work properly either. But today,  it worked for me and I even spoke with a real live person who was amazingly helpful and sweet and huggable.

Do you know what she told me?

They mailed my child support check yesterday. And she directed me to the website I could fill out a form for direct deposit. my very first child support check as a result of the Income Deduction Order is on its way to me!

Ok that sound is my rendition of Hallelujah.

But wait! There’s a little tiny bit more!

I came to my WordPress site to write a new post for today and noticed an interesting referrer. I clicked it and discovered this blog, my fourth baby if you will, has been selected as a finalist for CBS Miami’s 2011 Most Valuable Blogger Award in the Lifestyle category.The voting has opened and runs until September 9 allowing one vote per day in each category.

You might not be able to actually hear the sound that I made when I saw that but I can assure you any and all animals with keen senses did.

If you have found this blog because of that nomination, I’d like to say– Welcome and thank you so much for coming to see me! You can check out my Re: Mutant Supermodel page to learn the facts about me. Or you can see my Single Mom Resources that includes my favorite Single Mom posts, my growing collection of links to other single mom blogs, and other single mom resources. And if you want to get a great idea of what this blog is all about, you can see my recent 7 Links Project post that links you to some of my most popular content.

And if you’re here because you’re a loyal reader, I just want to thank you again for being part of this amazing community and for always encouraging and supporting me, my writing, and my mission. I see any nod to this blog not as a nod solely to me, but a nod to this whole community which you are very much a part of.

So, here’s wishing everyone an amazing, magical, confident, smooth weekend!

39 thoughts on “Happy Friday, indeed!

  1. Congrats! I am happy to share your awesomeness with the world, since I know you’ll always leave some for me. xoxo

    Reply
  2. Wow! You’ve had quite the week!!!!!! it’s always, always, good to hear fabulous news with my morning coffee!!!! I know you are so excited to finally get the child support stuff handled! Direct Deposit is the BEST way to go with that!!!

    I’d say I hope you had a terrific birthday ==== but it sounds like you definitely did!

    Reply
  3. That’s amazing!!! Congratulations on the nomination, and I’ll try to remember to vote for you every day!!!! I’m so happy that the week ended so well after a rough patch.

    Reply
  4. I love it when the stars align, the universe gets its act together, and Murphy takes a week-end off–congrats, and you deserve it. Use that giftcard to get yourself something nice from Amazon!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Heading into August’s final stretch « MutantSupermodel

Leave a Reply

