Ladybug Kin

Ladybug
“Ladybug” by MajiPineapple on Flickr

My brain feels over-stimulated and I feel like there are so many posts to write but none actually come forth and bear fruit.

Where does one start? I saw some great posts and corresponding articles about language in politics and media and the resulting discrepancies they create. It got me thinking about how advertising can seriously distort a news outlet or even the perception of a news source.

I saw an article, and insane comments, about the recommendation to provide free birth control under the new health care law.

I saw an article about the two Florida congresspersons sharing jabs at one another that are exaggerated beyond comprehension.

And of course, there’s always the drama of life and all that comes with it.

But, one needs to start somewhere and I’m going to start with a light one because it’s most closely related to the motherhood.

I read this little blog post, and the paper it refers to, about this crazy wasp that lays its egg in the belly of a ladybug via its stinger.

The egg grows in the ladybug’s belly, feeding on the ladybug’s tissues for about twenty days. It then breaks out of the ladybug’s belly, which the ladybug survives, and begins spinning its cocoon between the partially paralyzed ladybug’s legs. This “zombie” ladybug now stands watch over the cocoon until the adult wasp is ready to go free and terrorize other ladybugs.

Get this, about 25% of the zombie ladybugs recover “normal behavior after the emergence of the adult wasp.”

This totally freaked me out and I felt so horrible for the poor undeserving ladybug, until suddenly I realized my kinship to the ladybug.

The ladybug’s experiences eerily mirror that of a human mother. Think about it…

We’ve got buns in the ovens. They escape. We are compelled to protect them. We feel like zombies. And there’s only a 25% chance we’ll return to normal when they leave their safe house as adults.

Ladybug, I salute you!

5 thoughts on “Ladybug Kin

  1. OMG you are so right. No wonder I felt terrible for about 3 years postpartum. And the little wasps are still flitting around here like they own the place.

    Love your blog. Found it via big little wolf.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

