Where was I? Where am I? Where am I going?

I think with the first half of the year drawing to a close today, it’s a good time to take a look at where I am and where I want to be another six months from now and beyond.

In the books arena, I’ve read 32 of my goal of 60. I should have number 33 wrapped up this weekend. I’m happy I did this and am happy I raised the ante to 60. It’s keeping me going and is discouraging from just returning the library books stacked so neatly on my coffee table.

In crocheting, I’ve completed 11 projects as I set out to do. I have one more on the hook that I’ve had for a month at least. I have the yarn for another. And I keep dreaming about other projects I want to do. Why I’m having problems picking the hook and yarn up is beyond me.

In debt, I’ve made payments of $4,947 and is probably the area I’m sort of disappointed in but not really. Call it burn out or something but having been deprived of money for so many months, it’s hard to put additional funds towards debt snowflakes—especially as the summer is birthday season for my children. I’m behind where I should be if I’m to reach my goal of $11,000 by $3,729. At the very least, I’d like to at least double where I’m at right now for a total of $9894. I don’t know if I’ll be able to catch up entirely.

For one, I’m not sure the Income Deduction Order has actually gone into effect despite the order having been sent out a month ago (maybe longer). Although Ex has been paying things the past month, he’s not doing anything to make up the gap. If he were to be caught up, that would certainly help in plugging the debt hole especially as a portion of it came into play with his lack of payments.

I’m not going to call it quits on this goal, yet. I’d like to make it. I think $11k is reasonable if the income ramps up. Otherwise, I’ll take what I can get and just square my shoulders for a big year in 2012. Freedom of debt is going to be a reality from me in the next couple of years. It’s going to happen. The sooner the better, of course, but I’m not going to bang my head against a wall over things I can’t really control.

I think I mentioned it recently, but I’ve taken on the new goal of taking the GRE in September. I got my study guide in the mail and am looking to get started. I seriously need a calculator. Next weekend will be a great opportunity. I’m pretty sure I’ll be applying for a Masters in Communications in some sort of subset. I’d like to stick to research instead of application if that makes sense. I’m a nerd. I love to read. I like to write. I don’t like people. Well, that’s not true. I do like people, but I have a habit of getting too involved and so I think it’d be best to stick to books and papers.

Books and papers don’t get overly sensitive and freak the hell out on you—passively or aggressively.

I keep thinking about taking on NaNoWriMo again this year. I tried, and failed, a few months after the separation in 2009.

Repairing my laptop’s monitor is now a major priority. Reinstating cable and internet at my house, however, is not up there yet. It’s getting there—especially internet. But I’m not going bananas yet. I wonder if I’ll make it to the end of the year?

My hall closet is organized nicely at last. The play room still needs a lot of work. I want my bedroom to take on more signs of beauty and care. My mother wants very badly to team up with me to replace the furniture in the boys’ room. While I agree it is a hodge-podge, some of it is in quite bad shape, and it’s really not allowing me to take full advantage of the small space I’m hesitant. I don’t want to spend that kind of money right now but more importantly, I don’t want them doing it either.

Two birthday parties down, one more to go. Eldest wants a Reptile party. I looked into the local science museum but it’s quite pricey (for me) and limited to only 20. It amazes me there are places in South Florida that cling to such small sizes knowing how large families tend to be here. A friend mentioned she was able to get the museum to bring their animals to the house so I’m going to see if that’s an option.

My birthday’s in August too but I think I’m going to take a break and not have a get-together at my house. I think I’d just like to have dinner with my friends and family at my favorite Mexican restaurant.

I’m starting to think about Christmas. I want to make things as much as I don’t want to. I’m having such a hard time getting motivated to make anything, I’m uncomfortable thinking about it. But I have to because there are only six months to get things together and if you’re on a tight budget like I am, that’s not a lot of time.

What about you? How are you going with goals/resolutions/wishes for the year? Definitely drop a link if you’ve done your own half-way there review.

6 thoughts on “Where was I? Where am I? Where am I going?

  1. Wow..you’re already thinking about Christmas. That makes me depressed. Summer hasn’t even begun here yet.

    I agree on the furniture thing too. I’ve been dreaming about putting the boys into a room together, making a cute boy room and reclaiming the guest/office room. But that requires, time, paint, planning, cleaning, moving, new furniture and I just don’t feel like spending it right now when I have a quasi functional setup today. If I stumbled upon a cute bedroom set on craigslist, cheap and in town, maybe, but so far, there’s so much other stuff we need to do at my mom’s.

    You’ve come a long way in a short amount of time. I hope you are proud of all that you achieved.

    Reply
  2. I dunno. After a couple of years of living kind of goal-free, I’d like to go back to being a goal-driven person again. But I’m still not going to think about Christmas until some time around Dec. 1st… 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

