Knitting & Crochet Blog Week: Day Two, 29th March. Skill + 1UP

Oooh a retrospective post, how fun!

Around this time last year, I wasn’t doing much of anything craft-wise really. I think in many ways I was still focused on figuring out the single mom thing and how to make sense of everything. I was blogging though and my posts from March 2010 tell me I was reading books, in love with Mint and Alice in Wonderland, and appreciative of the craft of writing. But I wasn’t making anything yarny. As a matter of fact, according to Ravelry, my first project in 2010 was this wrap dress for my friend’s baby which I did in the summer and that project was a knit one. Yes readers, I know how to knit. Surprise!

Horrendous cell phone photo of the Blossom Wrap Dress

Even though none of my August posts mention it, I finally learned how to crochet August last year and made this scarf for Daughter as my first crochet project. I was shocked at how well it came together and how crochet finally clicked for me in a way it never had– and it clicked fast. I attribute this to Stitch ‘N Bitch Crochet: The Happy Hooker which shouldn’t have been a surprise as its older sister, Stitch ‘N Bitch: The Knitter’s Handbook is the book that taught me to knit.

My first crochet project

After that first, it was like the fists of fury but crochet-style and I’ve churned out one project after another trying absolutely anything and everything. This has been the number one difference to me between crochet and knitting. I am fearless with a hook but completely insecure with the needles. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve knit some pieces I’ve been very pleased with but it’s just always unnerved me and I’ve never felt 100% comfortable with knitting the way I have with crochet. I never knit in the round for instance except for one sock I somehow managed with the magic loop. And even that was an endeavor that sort of traumatized me even more as far as it came to knitting in the round.

Daughter's butterfly hat is worked in the round

Not so with crochet. I absolutely love projects worked in the round and even prefer them to projects worked straight as I don’t have to deal with those nasty foundation rows. You name it, I’ve pretty much made it: berets, booties, bucket hats, bun covers, bunnies, butterfly hats, chickadees, chunky hats, cup cozies, cowls, dish towels, dolls, fingerless gloves, fingerless gloves with stripes,  flower chains, flower necklaces, headbands, market bags, mushrooms, pandas, skinny scarves, slippers, striped scarves, throws, wine bags, and more. I have loads of fun with crocheting and even enjoy the process of learning new techniques as I feel they are all accessible to me if that makes sense.

As for progress, I guess a good example would be to compare two amigurumi projects (toys crocheted in the round) I’ve completed in the past year.

My first amigurumi, completed Sept. 2010

My most recent amigurumi project, completed March 2011

Want to see what other mad skills others have developed in the short span of 365 days? Click here for a Googly collection of today’s posts.

5 thoughts on “Knitting & Crochet Blog Week: Day Two, 29th March. Skill + 1UP

  1. I know exactly what you’re saying. I understand crochet and how the different stitches work… with knitting, it’s a different world. & ripping stitches out when knitting is a joke. You’re almost better off to start over. I pretend to know what I’m doing when knitting.. but truth be told, it’s just trial and error.

    Reply
  2. Cute projects and the little one is just beautiful as well.

    I was planning on joining in this week, but haven’t yet. Maybe I can catch up tonight. I am only a day behind. 😉 Have a great day.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: One Workshop or $20 Worth of Yarn - Deals2Inbox

Leave a Reply

