Words of Gratitude

It’s Friday, and before I get to the usual Friday blog stuff I do, I want to say something very important—Thank You. When I first started this blog, it was because I felt single moms were very under-represented absolutely everywhere. Maybe it’s because we’re really busy or don’t usually have much money to burn or maybe we’re pretty intimidating as we manage entire households without the help of a man. Either way, we’re not a demographic that gets much attention yet when we do, it’s rarely of the positive variety.

Another reason I started writing was sheer loneliness. Not really knowing anyone personally that had been through what I experienced made me feel a strong urge to reach out and say, “Hello? Anyone out there?” Lo and behold, there are indeed signs of life—vibrant, intelligent, strong, creative, compassionate life forms at that.

Most of the time, when I sit to write, I don’t really have a goal, objective, or even a topic. Sometimes, I just write because I absolutely have to but I’m not even sure where I’m going to start, much less end up. I never expect a response either but, admittedly, often desire one.

So, that’s where you all and the thanks come in. Over the past few months, so many of you have felt inclined to respond to my words. E-mails and comments have come my way in so many shapes, sizes, and styles. You have shown me so much support and encouragement—more than I imagined and in ways I couldn’t have fathomed.

I am so very grateful. I know my blog’s a bit scattered breaking that supposed blogging golden rule to streamline and stick to one overall topic. I talk a lot about money but I wouldn’t dream of pegging myself a Personal Finance blog. Crochet? Ditto. Books? Ditto? Mommyness? Ditto. I’ve said it once, and I’ll say it again, I have commitment issues and that invariably extends to the topics my blog touches upon. I do find it quite remarkable then, to have such a diverse group of readers who remain interested and involved.

Needless to say, what you bring to this blog is very much appreciated. I really love meeting each of you who venture from the reader shadowlands. Even those of you who stay silent observers mean so much to me simply because you come and read my equivalent of therapy sessions—and you return for more!

Giving me a moment of your time, a word of kindness, or even a little link love gives me a lot of strength and confidence. Every time you share a similarity, I’m pleased to know I’m really not alone. Those of you with advice open my eyes to another view. Any small praise builds me up a little bit more. And every vote of confidence you place in me is a reassuring pat on the back.

Life is not a smooth, straight path. It’s not the type of thing you really want to go at alone. And even though it’s quite small, I’m so grateful to all of you who make up this little community. So thank you, thank you, thank you. For those of you who come here to find someone who can possibly encourage you and help you through your personal challenge, know that I really hope I can give you even just a tiny bit of the support I’ve received here.

Even though I’ve done a lot of gushing, I’ve not forgotten what day it is—Friday. Nor have I forgotten that Fridays are for showing off. So today, I present to you my first little Panda bear made from Milky Robot’s pattern. He was great fun to make and I’m happily working on two more projects from her patterns that I will hopefully unveil next week. I think you will find her patterns very simple and clear and with lots of room to play with and make your creation your own. I’m working on finessing my sewing abilities but that’s a comment on my ability instead of the pattern’s. No matter how good her instructions are, it’s still up to me to piece the little guy properly. Enjoy the little guy and did anyone find my special hidden message?

22 thoughts on “Words of Gratitude

  1. Beautiful post. I love reading your blog each and every week (or a few times a week!) I, too, am touched by everyone’s outpouring. I would have never dreamed that WIPW and FO Friday would turn into a loving community, but that’s what it is. I feel like all of you are part of my family, and can’t wait to see your projects each week and just read what’s going on in your lives. So THANK YOU!

    Oh yeah, the panda is cute, too. 😉

    Reply
  2. I’m not quite sure how I stumbled upon your blog but I’m happy I did. You are so totally right about single mommas not getting enough positive attention. And I am so happy to know that I am not the only one in the world that has had a long divorce process and an ex that doesn’t pay up! Thanks for the great posts!

    Reply
    • Welcome! Oh no, as you’ll find here and in the comments left by others it’s a way too common occurence unfortunately. But, it’s also something that is often overcome in a positive way (see Jacq at Single Mom Rich Mom for the PERFECT example).

      Reply
  3. Very nice 🙂 I don’t follow a blogger’s rulebook either. I blog about anything that comes across my brainwaves, albeit finances, relationships, politics, food (and lots of foods!), kids – whatever. People need outlets, and my blog is where it’s at for me. It’s soothing, to say the least. High five for creative outlets – whatever they may be for you!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: The 7 Links Project « MutantSupermodel

  5. Pingback: Divorce: One Year Later | Mutant Supermodel

Leave a Reply

