Goal Tending

Anatomy of a Brain

Sometimes, my mind is so overloaded it’s hard to keep track of anything from the tiniest of things like taking the garbage out Wednesdays to bigger things like what I want to be doing in five, ten, twenty years. A huge part of fixing a problem is figuring out the shortcomings. Yes I know we’re all close to perfect but simply perfect, we’re not. So, when I start to throw my pity party over my latest failure, I try to cut the dramatics and start thinking. Thinking is something I’m quite good at when I remember to do it.

Something I’m not good at is being mentally organized. And so I try to troubleshoot ways around that caveat. For instance, I’m horrible at keeping track of my keys. I’d misplace them all of the time and spend way too long some mornings tearing through the house angry and frustrated looking for the stupid things. So, I installed a giant set of hooks next to my door and force myself to hook them as soon as I walk in the door. You’d think after having this going for about a year now I’d be in the habit of doing it but sometimes I walk in the house over laden with bags, children, umbrellas, etc. that I just run to the dining room table to dump everything.  And then, I walk away from the dump where my keys usually sit buried. However, I do force myself to hook them as soon as I return to the dump and see them.

So, earlier this year as I emerged from that yucky divorce/separation depressing cocoon, I felt a lot of frustration and resentment at this feeling that my life had been co-opted the past seven years. I felt like I had little to no control over the seven years that had preceded my separation. But, I found that even though I was definitely the sole person in the driver’s seat, I wasn’t really going anywhere, just driving around wherever life’s traffic pushed me. To overcome this, I got the idea to create SMART goals for myself.

Once again, a long time has passed since I revisited these goals on my blog but I haven’t completely ignored them either. As a matter of fact, I recently read Dave Ramsey’s The Total Money Makeover: A Proven Plan for Financial Fitness as part of achieving some of the financial goals on that list. By the way, I was blown away by how much that book affected me. I really thought with all of the personal finance blogs I’d been reading for SO long there’d be little new to me in there. But I was wrong. That book burrowed into my soul and yanked on everything—my brain, my heart, etc. There’s a big difference between receiving snowflakes of information like you do in blogs and getting an avalanche of it in book form—especially in Dave Ramsey’s tone. I have since placed requests for other “must-read” personal finance books at the library and have really re-examined my financial goals, tweaked some, added some, and replaced some. The book also got me thinking about other types of goals that were more long-term, “What do I want to do with my life?” kind of things.

This was particularly interesting because I’ve recently expressed frustration at my lack of coming up with these types of things. I guess it’s hard to imagine the future when you have no idea how to get to tomorrow, much less ten years from now. Without further ado, here are my freshly tended goals I’ll be working on and you may hear about in this blog one way or another.  

MutantSupermodel Life Goals updated December 13, 2010

  • Complete requested crocheted baby cape by January 25, 2011.
  • Schedule charity pick-up for Thursday, December 16.
  • Try and sell sofas and other items on Craigslist.
  • Commit to another reading project for 2011 and have details worked out by December 15, 2010.
  • Complete MutantEldest’s Mario Bros. blanket by March 25, 2010.
  • Continue tracking spending in Excel for an entire year (July 31, 2011).
  • Complete ten week Finances of Food challenge January 31, 2011.
  • Re-commit to doing laundry every other day for the next six months (March 25, 2011).
  • Continue planning Girls’ Night for next six months (April 2011).
  • Be Debt-Free May 2012.
  • Have $1,000 emergency fund in place by January 7, 2011.
  • Have $18,000 crisis fund in place May 2013.
  • Purchase a car September 2013 in cash.
  • Begin contributing 15% to retirement June 2013.
  • Begin funding college June 2013.
  • Own a vintage car.
  • Retire on the water.
  • Get a Master’s Degree, perhaps a Doctorate.
  • Create/fund literacy charities.
4 thoughts on “Goal Tending

  1. First- you need a man in your life that takes out the trash, that’s a man task LOL

    I also enjoyed Dave Ramsey’s book and I keep a copy around, I’m surprised how often I read it, like you said it touches something…

    Your goals seem very attainable, get the easy ones out of the way and focus on the ones like the car purchase.

    HS

    Reply
    • LOL It IS a man task and I despise it. But taking the trash out myself is better than a poopy man 🙂 Yes, I’d like to own the book, I borrowed it from the library. But like you, I think it’s definitely a re-read. The Happiness Project is another one I loaned from the library that I’d like to own.

      Reply
  2. I looked up the Happiness Project on Amazon, it has great reviews, I will give it a try. I am trying to better myself and finding a little bit of happiness here and there might be nice!

    About the ad- that company paid me $150 for it 🙂 can’t complain.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: My Separation Story Sans The Gory Details « MutantSupermodel Musings

Leave a Reply

