One Week Later

It’s been one week since the birth story I posted yesterday. Seven days of spending time with my third child. It’s so strange saying that. Three children! I never imagined I’d have three children. I guess the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree after all.

One Week Old

It’s been nice getting to know Baby. He feels and smells so yummy. He’s a quiet baby and if he’s crying something isn’t right. He has one colicky fit in the wee early morning hours and that only happens if he’s spent the evening in my bed with free reign on his milk supply 😉 Otherwise, he’s a complete delight and I’m SO happy to have him here. I am especially intrigued by his eyebrows which are barely visible and resemble peach fuzz. I also can’t stop kissing his tiny soft head.

Eldest and Daughter have surprised me with their little brother. Eldest is enthralled and constantly asks, “Isn’t he SO cute?” He loves watching Baby and will touch his little foot or hand every now and then. He’s very captivated by his TINY size and in the hospital kept exclaiming over his tiny fingers and toes.

Daughter has taken on the Mini Mommy role which has completely surprised me. She cannot leave Baby alone. She sounds the alarm when he cries and when he’s being carried she simply must come and touch him– especially his soft hair. She loves his vibrating rocking chair and moves it from room to room demanding we put Baby into it. She also likes climbing into it herself and relaxing. She has also been known to sit on the edge of it when Baby’s in it. She loves covering him in blankets and always brings them over to me for “baby’. And she absolutely ADORES holding him and asks to do so often.

By the way, it is worth mentioning that the beautiful girl in that photo up there happily holding her little brother is turning (terribly) two this Friday (the 13th). I takes my breath away at how fast it has all gone. I wonder if maybe I missed something? I’ll share lots more about my gorgeous princess this Friday becuse it gets me very teary-eyed knowing she’s getting older. I can’t help it. I’m a sentimental fool these days.

Leave a Reply

