Mission: House, Continued

So, the house and I continue our tango. 

Stanley Steemer came out yesterday and cleaned our microfiber couches. They look beautiful. While they were here, I made a huge dent in the laundry (folding, putting away, etc.). And I did some work on my closet. One more full to bursting bag made it out the door last night with J for Goodwill.  Yesterday's big accomplishment was my bedroom. It is absolutely clean. All the toys are out of here, the bench is clear minus the half-packed hospital suitcase and an extra pillow I use at night for my legs or feet depending which hurts more. The furniture has been wiped down and my armoire looks fabulous. My bed is made and looks awesome although right now it has some contents of the linen closet on it because that's my current project (which is moving along great– ANOTHER full Goodwill bag already!)

I'm not linking to it because it's Target and it was bought before they royally pissed me off (by the way, the response was something along the lines of "Sorry you don't like it but these are our policies"). The only thing that may allow me to forgive them one day is the fact that my mother had a GREAT experience with a store manager who was going to help us if we didn't get the receipt (we did by the way). For right now, I'm using up my credit dollars with them and then staying away for a while. 

Anyhow, back to the saga of the house. As I mentioned, I am currently working on the linen closet in my bathroom. I think I may be down to one or two loads of laundry. I have to finish my bathroom but I'm kind of not interested right now. The toilet needs cleaning still, magazines need to be dumped, the counter needs to be picked up (which means I have to figure out the baby lock J put on MY cabinet), I need to find the mop to do the floors, and the mirror can use a quick wipe. Might as well go through the beauty products on the counter too and see what can get tossed. 

Then there's the hallway. I don't know how it ends up that way, but that damn hallway ends up as a staging area every time. It's like everyone spills out into there. Which for some things it's fine. For instance, I put full trash bags out there and Goodwill bags and then I have J take them out every night. But lots of random stuff ends up out there too and it's the kind of stuff you just don't know what to do with exactly. It's frustrating.

There is also the nursery which is also full of "Stuff" and I'm not sure what to do with it. That's the main problem with the downstairs too. I think I might use the leftover Target credit ($30) to buy a couple of Space Bags although the reviews are crap. I just need to figure out what to do with the crib bumpers from Daughter's bedding set. I have Eldest's in a rubbermaid bin in the garage of doom. 

Got distracted again and I've totally lost my train of thought. I'm going to get back to the house now.

Leave a Reply

