Movies and Books

What else is there to do really when summers are unbearably hot, humid, and even worse- rainy as hell? Stay indoors with the a/c and read, watch movies, and craft- right? I've never been much of a TV person but lately it's really convenient to sit in front of the boob tube while nursing Daughter or while soothing her in the carrier. I also have been caught with her on my chest and me knitting above her. 🙂

I watched two movies the other night that are so excellent. The first was Saved! which is actually a few years old and I've seen it before. This movie is excellent. First of all, it's freaking hysterical. Second of all, it's hard to find a movie featuring high school students that also showcases an extremely powerful message. Saved! is one of those rare exceptions. I went to Catholic school from Kindergarten to 12th grade and even though the school featured is not Catholic, the basic undercurrents are the same. Sadly too many Christians take the movie incredibly personally and can't get past the satirical aspect immediately going into defensive mode. They miss the whole point of the movie which is wading through everything to get to the truth of what it takes to be a good person. Yes there are cliches. Yes there are stereotypes. Yes there is a level of predictability to it. But really, finding movies without any of those things is incredibly rare if not impossible especially in the comedy genre. It is really just good fun to watch and there are definitely scenes and lines that make your brain do a double-take (I have the bible-throwing scene in mind in particular).

Then I was lucky enough to see that Finding Neverland came on right after. I've been waiting to since this movie since it came out. J is not interested at all so it was perfect that it came on at 2 in the morning when the only stirring creatures in this house were myself and Daughter. Oh hell what a movie. So beautiful!! And it had so many levels and things going on. I love the creative process being portrayed. Like the bell attached to the kite bringing forth Tinkerbell and the grandmother as Captain Hook? Priceless! And of course I cried like a hormonal disaster. I mean here I am holding my sleeping newborn girl and watching a movie about mortality and really it was one of those situations where I had to force myself to not think too much because I was really close to just sobbing like a fiend. Hooray hormones! When it was over it occurred to me I've never read Peter Pan and that frustrated me greatly so it's at the top of my list of must-reads.

Speaking of books, I ordered two knitting books the other day. One Skein: 30 Quick Projects to Knit and Crochet and Stich n' Bitch Nation. SNBN is mighty thick so I haven't skimmed it yet. I skimmed One Skein though and I can tell you you won't be seeing any of those projects here for a while yet. Almost every project in the book calls for circular needles and/or double pointed needles. I am not opposed to using those but I'm not comfortable doing it yet. Also, it uses stitches I haven't learned yet like cable and seed. I'll get there but I'm really enjoying myself mastering the basics with fun projects that are easy and straightforward. SNBN looks really fun but I think I noticed that there is no indication of level on the projects. Am I right? They don't tell you if something is easy, intermediate, or advanced? I find that frustrating. But it's a minor thing. I'm going to sit and leaf through it now as my hands are a bit achey right now.

In unrelated news. Coloriffic August is Rainbow themed. How cool is that!?! I'm having a blast looking around for ideas and inspiration. Here's some cute stuff I've seen so far.

I actually LOVE all of this stuff. The last top with the dots is my favorite and the necklace too. Yummy!! I forgot how much I love rainbows. 🙂 I've loved them since I was a little girl and then they kinda got shelved in the back of the brain.

Leave a Reply

