Expanding On Certain Points

So yesterday, I left you hanging didn't I? Tsk tsk, so rude!

First of all, the potty training thing. This is being stamped with a TOO MUCH INFORMATION WARNING. If you don't want to hear about potty stuff avert your eyes to the next paragraph. Well I was ready to give up except get this- we ran out of freaking diapers! We had one to get us through the night and that was that. Well, J decided to take on the role of SuperDad and got online and spent a lot of time last night, and today at work, looking up potty training tips and such things. He kept going back to the whole "Let em run nekkid- they'll figure it out" thing but I kept protesting. See the thing is Eldest knows exactly when he needs to go and what he needs to do. He just doesn't want to do it IN the potty. But J pointed out that as long as he has SOMETHING on, he feels he can go. So I conceded to let the boy run naked today and the fact we had no diapers really played a deciding factor in that but also, most of his underwear was dirty in the laundry machine anyways. So he was Naked Boy today as he likes to refer to himself when nekkid. My first inkling that this might work was when he started begging for underwear. HUH? Yeah. I said sorry Eldest but no underwear. They're all dirty from all those accidents! He cried a bit the first time and got over it. Also, I moved his potty chair downstairs out of his bathroom and put it right here in the "dining room" (really it's the office for now and it has a plastic table and plastic chairs we sit and eat at). It's his main play area during the day. He dragged the potty chair all over with him- like a wheelchair but with no wheels. Odd. Little. Boy. When I realized he was going the whole day with NO accidents because he was holding it in, I decided to be a sneaky mom and broke out a cup of water and a box of Wheat Thins which he loves. Well that did it. Because of the potty training the boy hasn't pooped once in days and today he finally went ahead and relieved himself IN THE POTTY CHAIR. Well we celebrated and cleaned him and sayed bye bye to the poo poo and moved on. By the way, he peed in it later on that day too. Cool huh? So we'll see how it goes but I'm going to do the nekkid thing for the next few days. And then once he's got it down I'll put him in underwear and see if he doesn't regress to the whole safe feeling thing. Cross your fingers but we're almost there I think!

Yesterday I mentioned the new issue of Domino came in. I love that magazine so very much. It's just got so many pretty things in it and yes a lot of it I can't afford but some of it I can and really a lot of it is adaptable. Just have to make it work for you! The thing about Domino I really like is that it motivates me to prettyize my house and it makes me realize most times that doesn't even mean spending a dime. I can get ideas on arranging some objects in a different way or I'll just want to clean things up a bit so they look well not chaotic. I've actually been itching but today I somehow just started getting things done around here especially the GARAGE. UGH. That garage is as bad a thorn in my side as the yard is. Actually, it's more of a thorn because it just ruins everything else! And I have to admit that something else came in that motivated me to get that garage in gear.

I won that on Ebay a week or so ago and it came in today. I actually got it because I plan on painting my "craft room" purple and I wanted a fashion edge to it decor-wise because even though I can't sew, sketch, etc. fashion really motivates and inspires me. It came in today and is even more stunning in person if that's possible. So I got in that garage determined to start clearing my space in there. Well not much got done exactly but that's not really true either. There is just SO MUCH in there that needs to get done that it's hard to measure success. But it's my project and I want to get as much work done on it now during the summer while I can rely on my mom for some babysitting and while the events are not happening before things turn psychotic in the fall and winter. I started sorting through things and unpacking things and stuff. And of course, when you're unpacking it leads to you cleaning and organizing OTHER areas of the house because you need a way to store everything, right? So I worked on my bathroom and my closet today too as side projects. The fact of the matter is that right now, Daughter sleeps a lot and I really have to take advantage of that while I can because it's not going to last. And Mario likes to help me do, anything. The hardest part is getting my ass away from the computer. I'm trying though. I'm really really trying.

So I am in the Project Spectrum Postcard swap for June and I know I'm late but my partner is aware of the circumstances over here. So I made a postcard and I hate it which annoys me because I spent a lot of time looking through magazines for the right images and cutting them out and arranging them and all of that but it just looks retarded to me. And so I'm stumped now. Why can't I think of anything!?!?! I feel so lame. And I'll be honest, I keep seeing some examples of postcards people are sending and receiving and well shit I just can't do that kind of masterpiece! So it's a little discouraging in that sense. And just because I'm a human being and not a crafty goddess I'm going to show you my yuckiness despite my being completely mortified.

MOVING ON.

For Father's Day J got the gift of satellite tv which was much needed because where we moved to the cable company is way behind the times and very disorganized and showed no signs of possible improvement. They were just awful. AWFUL. So we got Dish Network and he loves it. The thing is I LOVE IT TOO. Mostly because of two channels- Ultra HD and DIY. Ultra HD is a fashion and design channel and I won't bore you with much gushing over it. But DIY is AWESOME. I love that channel. I have heard many wonderful things about that channel and years ago, in our first apartment, we had it but I was not much of a crafter then. I was too busy being a slutty Jezebel carrying my child conceived out of wedlock and living in sin you see. Of course, when we moved I got more into crafting and heard the wonders of the DIY network (AND the guffaws about some of its shows and hosts I won't lie). Recently though I'd heard some murmurings about a knitting show that was actually interesting and so I looked through the guide and found Knitty Gritty and recorded it. I love it. I just don't get to SEE other people knitting so I get a total geek satisfaction out of watching it. The best part? Eldest LOVES it too. He was going nuts today with the show about spinning. So anyways, I'm geeked. It's a fun show and it's motivating although I'm not sure how many of those projects I'd actually MAKE (a monitor and mouse cozy? no thanks) it still gets me inspired to knit which I'd like very much to go right on doing except my yarn needles still haven't come up and I hate not finishing something so close to finishing. That purse pattern my swap partner sent me though is REALLY calling to me. And I really want to do something PURPLE for project spectrum. It's my favorite color!! So we'll see. In the meantime I'll post the only project I've managed to complete recently and that is the baby hat from Knitting for Babies. Actually, I finished this the night we came home from the hospital without Daughter. I was really distraught that night and in a weird completely hormonal way this made me feel connected to her. Weird I know. Thank the hormones. It's huge on her right now but maybe by the time Winter rolls around it'll be a nice fit and that'll be fun because we REALLY want to go to New England this Winter.

I think I've caught up on everything I wanted to. Today was the first day since Daughter was born that I was able to read ALL of my crafty blogs. I was so stinking excited about that. I didn't get to read ALL of my blogs besides the crafty ones too but we have to take things in strides and the crafty ones outweigh the other blogs by about oh three times? By the way, bedtime around here is a NICE thing. Eldest's been in bed a couple hours and Daughter fell asleep again after eating. Sleeping babies are tons better than, well, this:

Leave a Reply

