Caving in

Two entries today that are craft-related- yay. I went ahead and ordered some books from Overstock as not only do you get prices lower than even Amazon and I also get points being a MyPoints member (which I’d be more than happy to refer you to).

So what did I order? Nothing I posted earlier of course LOL!!

Here is my reasoning. I really, really, really, really want to learn how to knit. I know ONE person who “knows” how to knit- my sister in law and she’s just started. She does not in the least feel comfortable teaching me how to knit and keeps suggesting I have her friend teach me but I’m not that close to the girl. So I did a lot of research on Amazon looking for knitting books and bought those two for this reason. The Knitting Experience is the only one that has various reviews by people who never in their life held knitting needles before. Stitch n Bitch had many “beginners” but they already knew the most basic of basics. Very few actually learned from Stitch n Bitch. So why not just get The Knitting Experience? Because frankly that cover scares me. I have this fear of not finding anything in there I’m really interested in making. I live in Miami, FL. A “cold” day is in the 60’s. There is not much use here for scarves, sweaters, coats, and even funky socks. So why knit? Mostly because I love the toys. 🙂 And the knick-knacks. So I figure between the two books I should definitely figure out the knitting thing AND have a few good projects to practice with.

The Crochet book is because one day I was really bored and bought one of those easy to learn crochet kits. HEY! I hear you groaning at my stupidity! Needless to say, I’m still clueless. And even though my first choice was the Learn to Crochet in One Day book, Overstock didn’t carry it so I did more research and went with the second best choice. Anything has to be better than that crappy kit.

The books take 2 – 15 days to ship. Which means they’ll probably get here right around the time we’ll be frenzied with moving. I figure they’ll either just have to sit and decorate a shelf for a little while or they’ll become my way to tune out the million and one things that need to get done. I’ll happily keep you updated.

Leave a Reply

